Music Monday: Alabama Shakes

Happy Monday!  I’m sure there are those of you who have today off but for those, like me, who are stuck back in the office despite the beautiful weather, I feel your pain.  Quite literally, actually, as I spent some significant time in the sun this weekend and my poor ivory skin, despite SPF 175, just cannot hold up against the rays of global warming.

Although I am wishing that today was a holiday and I could spend it laying in the grass day-drinking somewhere, I’m pretty psyched this morning as my guest post for Post-Grad Learning is live!  PGL is a great blog and it’s such a great feeling to be able to be a part of their world.  Be sure to head over RIGHT NOW to check out my five reasons why everyone should be fired from a job at least once:

Why Everyone Should Be Fired Once

Oh, hey, welcome back!  Hope you enjoyed that.  It was fun to write and I believe it to be true.

Back to the important task of Music Monday – the music!  I wanted to do a blog post on Alabama Shakes a couple weeks ago but was distracted by some other music that was dominating my iPod and now the band has completely blown up!  Following a strong showing at SXSW, Alabama Shakes has been everywhere, selling out shows at hip venues and popping up on every music blog that matters.  Hell, they’ve booked Letterman for this week, so expect your parents to start asking if you’ve heard about them.

I love their Southern blues rock sound and I love the grit and power that comes across on every track.  This is a big week for me – I’m wrapping up my grad school applications and getting ready for two huge weekends coming up and I need to stay amped and motivated.  Alabama Shakes’ first full-length album, Boys and Girls, is perfect for getting excited and feeling like I can foot-stomp my way to kicking ass and handling my business.  Enjoy the video of their first single, Hold On, below and be sure to check out the stream of their album.

Full Stream of Boys & Girls at NPR

One thought on “Music Monday: Alabama Shakes

Join the Convo

