Is It Time To Quit Your Job?

As many of your readers know, I’m coming up on one year at my current job.  Prior to that, I was fired (twice!) and juggling a mix of funemployment, hustlin’, and part-time laboring.  While there have been good days and bad days in either situation, I have felt so fortunate to be gainfully employed in the last year, especially when I remember how many other Americans are not.

With that said, I find myself wondering whether its time to move on again.  This job fulfilled its purpose – it gave me a little more financial stability, I relocated to a new city (necessary for career growth and reinvigorating my social life), and it gave me a routine and structure that I needed.  BUT – there’s always a but, isn’t there – it just isn’t working for me anymore.  I’ve started the job hunt in earnest again, taking advantage of new city networking and the relatively healthy economy here in the District and may potentially have some options.

This makes it very fortuitous that I would come across this great post on one of my favorite websites, GOOD, that gives some advice on why it might be a good idea to quit your job.  Their considerations:

  • You don’t have to move home again:  This is definitely true in an urban setting – it’s easy to find roommates, cheap neighborhoods, or economy digs.  I rent from a friend who owns her own home, so my living expenses are economical and I know that I can cover my day-to-day with one of several possible alternate options on the table.  Also, I have a couple month’s rent saved up.  Do you?  You should.  (Ed. note:  This comment brought to you by your parents.)
  • Turn to the service industry:  GOOD suggests utilizing the “etc” section of Craigslist to increase your cash flow, either while you job hunt or to give you the cushion you need to quit.  I’m a firm believer that side money earned from odd jobs can often cover what you would make at your soul-crushing job – some people are made to juggle jobs instead of the 9-to-5 grind.  Not for everyone but an option that I believe in.
  • Quitting your job does not mean unemployed:  At least on paper.  If you’re concerned about gap time on your resume (and you should be, apparently), remember that you can be working without being employed.  We are a generation of freelancers, job-creaters, and career-crafters – with a high-speed Internet connection, gumption, and a strong work ethic, you can create your dream job.  Or at least have more fun than you’re having now.
  • Sometimes its just worth it:  This is the key element for me.  We have to put a value on our emotional well-being and our personal happiness.  Quitting your job can be a serious luxury but it also may be a necessity.
I’m still not entirely sure what I’m going to do yet.  I’m moving forward but not so ambitious as to put in my two weeks notice and figure it out later.  It is reassuring to know that the good people at GOOD – and many, many others – are around to remind me that sticking in a job that is not working out just because I should have a job is not a good enough reason.
One thought on “Is It Time To Quit Your Job?

  1. Pingback: How To Quit Your Job (in 5 Easy Steps) « Musings on Life After College

Join the Convo

