Music Monday – Steve Martin

As evidenced by my lack of posting, I had a bit of a rough week last week.  Between major shake-ups at work (which had me momentarily fearing for my job security), a tough review of my finances, tension amongst friends, and what felt like endless bad news from the other side of the world, I felt so weighed down by the trappings of my semi-adulthood.

Luckily, the weekend brought a reprieve.  Rifts were healed, plans were set into place, good friends were abundant, and Sunday was spent enjoying one of my favorite leisure activities – swimming and boating at Lake Anna.  I came away from the weekend with a slight sunburn (curse this Irish skin) but feeling refreshed, refocused, and more upbeat than I’ve felt in weeks.

Whenever I enjoy a great lake day, I always seem to instantly set my iPod to banjo music – something about being in the wilds of Virginia makes me yearn for the old-fashioned charm and foot thumping joy of the banjo.  And when I’m feeling particularly upbeat, there’s no one I enjoy more on the banjo than Steve Martin (and the Steep Canyon Rangers.)  Martin is not only one of my favorite actors, comedians, singers, and authors, but he’s also wicked on the banjo, combining lighting fast picking with lyrics that always bring a smile to my face.

For today’s Music Monday, in  hopes of sustaining this infectious good mood, I hope you’ll enjoy Steve Martin’s banjo-fied version of King Tut, a comedy classic.  I dare you to hear Martin intone that “he gave his life for tourism” and not chuckle.

 

King Tut – Steve Martin and the Steep Canyon Rangers

Join the Convo

