Music Monday – The Creation

Whenever I’m going through a challenging or difficult time,  I always find myself playing the same music over and over again – its my musical equivalent of comfort food.  For me, British bands from the 1960s are my version of chicken soup – its music that I “discovered” during my formative early teens and I always seem to go back to it when I need to remember an easier time.  I know this is strange for someone who was born in the mid-80s, but there’s something so carefree about the music of that era – which is why The Creation has been finding its way in my music circulation a lot lately.

The Creation, one of my favorite bands, is often overshadowed by its more popular predecessors like The Kinks, The Who, and the Birds and are most commonly noted for their inclusion in the Max Fischer yearbook sequence in the fantastic film, Rushmore.  For me, their songs are like an Abstract Expressionist painting or a classic comedy – something that may seem slight or less than fulfilling upon first view but continue to burrow into your subconscious long after you’ve moved on to something else.  They make me feel rooted, both in the past and the present, in a way that’s deeply reassuring when things feel like they change every second.

While I love many of The Creation’s songs, it’s Biff Bang Pow that always seems to get my shoulders shaking and my hips swaying when I need to forget about the worries of the day.  Enjoy!

Join the Convo

