Music Monday – Beastie Boys and Santigold

Being 27, I can’t really remember a time in my life where the Beastie Boys weren’t part of the musical landscape.  My dad enjoyed blasting Licensed to Ill whenever he was trying to engage me in “hip” music during my elementary school days, Sabatoge was a middle school jam necessity, I downloaded To the 5 Boroughs to my first portable music player (oh, technology!), and was thrilled when new tracks started leaking online earlier this year – not to mention the amazing revisited Fight for Your Right video.  I would be hard pressed to think of another musical group, of any genre, that has been a solid part of my musical life in the same way as the Beastie Boys.

I was thrilled when I first heard this track, which features one of the fiercest females in music, Santogold.  This is the quintessential summer jam for me – something you can enjoy blasting in your car with the windows down or on your back deck while you’re grilling out.  I’m sure some of you might find this to be a strange music choice for Independence Day but for me, this song embodies the spirit of summer – perfect for a three day weekend!

So, grab a cold brew, throw a burger on the grill, gather with your pals, and enjoy this dope, brassy, groove and enjoy your Fourth of July!

Don’t Play No Game I Can’t Win by The Beastie Boys featuring Santigold

One thought on “Music Monday – Beastie Boys and Santigold

  1. Pingback: Music Monday: Sia « Musings on Life After College

Join the Convo

