The Honeymoon is Over

Let’s not beat around the bush – this blog is back not just to make silly Sesame Street jokes or talk about rejuvenating concert experiences but to discuss the difficulties in adapting to adulthood.

As you may recall, I recently started a new job in the District.  It all happened so fast – an almost fluke submission of my resume led to a phone interview to a job interview to moving to DC – all in about six weeks!  The first two months were part-time but with the new year, came a new, full-time position.

At first, it was bliss.  I relished the opportunity to have a routine again – wake up, dress in grown-up clothes, do the crossword (in pen – yeah, I’m that person) during my commute, sit at a desk, tweet when I’m bored, make an important impact on the world, and then go out for drinks immediately following.  Wash, rinse, repeat.  Beyond a routine and a renewed sense of purpose, I rather enjoyed having money.  While unemployment benefits helped keep me in PBR and $2 appetizers-for-dinner, I was overjoyed to be able to sit down for a nice dinner or attend fun concerts or plan week-long Civil War road trips and know that I could afford it.  It can be a little easier to live a life abundantly if you can fund it.

Oh, but how the bloom falls off the rose.  I know there’s nothing groundbreaking about becoming disillusioned with the day to day realities of a new job or realizing the novelty of a new city doesn’t erase the pull you feel to another place – but it definitely snuck up on me in a way that I hadn’t predicted.  Perhaps its seasonal doldrums or the fact that unemployment offered a different set of pleasures, but I find myself yearning to be free – after only 8 months!

Does anyone else feel this way?  Is this part of our ADHD generation’s need for something new and exciting and different all the time?  Should I be worried that I’ve lost the professional butterflies in my stomach and have settled into a domesticated working relationship?  Or should I be taking the part of me that wants more seriously?

4 thoughts on “The Honeymoon is Over

  1. menina, stick with it. every 6 months i want to get up and run in the other direction (which usually means another country). you have to stick it out, who knows what could be waiting around the corner…

    • Ah, to escape to another country – I wish!

      I know you’re right – I definitely get the 6 month itch after trying anything new. I think I also get overwhelmed by all the fantastic, interesting, and different things all my friends and peers are doing and I always wonder “Could/should/would I be doing that instead?”

      But I know patience is a virtue and that all good things that have come my way have happened unexpectedly, so we shall see…

      Thanks for commenting 🙂

  2. Being a college graduate myself I understand your struggles and your fear of being an adult. I am glad that you are making some progress into Adulthood but trust me it is not all it is cracked up to be. I even decided to make a blog revolving around my troubles 2 years post graduation. It’s hard out htere but you are making great progress and I wish you the best of luck. You can do it all!

    • Thanks so much for your comment! I often feel when I pull back and look at my life in a big-picture way, I am so lucky and blessed. But its easy to find the struggles in the day to day and get bogged down.

      Thanks for your encouragement!

Join the Convo

