Music Monday: Bob Dylan

I’m having one of those days where I just don’t want to work for the man.  I wish I could win mega-millions or find a ridiculously wealthy sugar daddy (or mama – I’m really not that choosy) and spend time just doing the things I love and worry less about being a responsible and productive member of society.  On days like these, I like to rock out to this Monday’s musical selection and shake my fist of fury at the man.


Maggie’s Farm by Bob Dylan

A favorite song of infamous Dylan fan Obama, according to Jann Wenner of Rolling Stone, Dylan’s Maggie’s Farm is beginning to become increasingly relevant for a new generation of youth.  Although the song is essential a protest song against protest music, Dylan’s assertion that he has a “head full of ideas and they’re driving [him] insane” speaks volumes to those of us who to jobs where we’re underchallenged or lack a job at all.

While for Dylan, Maggie’s brother, pa, and ma may represent an industry that was trying to restrain him, the people getting rich off his talent, and the audience that drove demand for something he didn’t want to produce, I think it’s easy for each of us facing job-related frustration to draw parallels with our own struggles.

After all, as Dylan says,

Well, I try my best
To be just like I am
But everybody wants you
To be just like them

Have a great suggestion for Music Monday?  Drop us an email at postcollegiateblog [at] gmail [dot] com or leave us a comment!

2 thoughts on “Music Monday: Bob Dylan

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Music Monday: Bob Dylan « Musings on Life After College -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: Music Monday – Rewind « Musings on Life After College

Join the Convo

