I Had a [Temp] Job. Now I Don’t. Part Deux.

I’m not particularly a fan of sequels.  Like any self-respecting film nerd, I can point to a few key, shining examples – I have plenty of love for The Empire Strikes Back and I’m one of those people who think the parallel stories of The Godfather Part Two make it the superior film.  However, seeing as I once again have a termination story to share, it’s time for a sequel post.

As you know, I took on a temporary position in August.  It was a very new experience for me.  I had never worked in a temporary capacity before, never had worked in insurance, never really worked in a corporate environment at all, and definitely could not have anticipated how it worked out.  I went in so bright eyed and bushy tailed – just read my blog post to see how excited and ambitious I was.

The job itself was fine.  The work was very new to me and I enjoyed learning new skills and pushing myself to excel in a new field.  Not to brag, but I did excel – I got an enormous confidence boost by seeing my evaluation scores and trainer response.  Having been a difficult job environment for most of my post-college career, I started to ride a feel-good high of being in a job where I got an emotional high five every week.  It reminded me of the thrill I got in college seeing a good grade on a paper or getting a shout-out from a professor for good work.

Unfortunately [naturally, there is an unfortunately to this story, I encountered a family emergency a few weeks ago.  Many people struggle with the balance of work and family; I’ve never been a touchy-feely family person, but the situation definitely called for missing work.  So, I did what I thought was the most professional thing to do – I spoke with my supervisor and explained the need to miss 2 or 3 days for what eventually became a bereavement period.  I was excused from work and turned my focus to my family.

You probably see where this is going.  I returned to work, thinking every thing was fine, and found out 5 days later that my temporary assignment had been ended.  Being a contract worker meant that I heard about it from my agency – not the supervisor I had spoken with or the trainers who I returned to after my family emergency.  As you can imagine, I was shocked and upset and worried about my future – despite my parents’ best efforts otherwise, I did not have a back-up plan.

Do not worry, though, dear readers; I’m doing okay.  As one of my housemates noted on the day of the firing – You’ve been unemployed before – you’ll get through it. And she’s exactly right.  I took a day or two to be upset and a little depressed and then I went into crisis management mode.

It’s all still a little new but I think this was a positive experience.  Obviously, the company isn’t a place I would want to be if this is how they treat people.  Plus, I’ve already had a few job interviews this week (more on that later!) and I applied for my first unemployment claim!  Having a little financial security during the transition is definitely a luxury I am grateful for.

The moral of this story is all jobs are temporary, whether we admit it or not.  Sometimes things in life don’t work but we have to move on.  Being unemployed is the suck most of the time but the more you face it, the more you see that it isn’t the end of things – it can be the beginning.

Misery loves company and I love a good firing story.  Share your story in the comments or feel free to email it to postcollegiateblog [at] gmail [dot ] com.  Stories will be posted anonymously to protect your future job searches!

7 thoughts on “I Had a [Temp] Job. Now I Don’t. Part Deux.

  1. Hi, I came across your site by accident and have to say I’ve found it really inspiring. My job is potentially at risk and it’s good to hear from someone who has been through it and can still be enthusiastic. I really hope things work out for you.

    • I’m so glad you found us! I’m so sorry to hear about your job but I’m glad that you can read about my experiences and the experiences of others and feel inspired. Keep reading and feel free to send us an email at postcollegiateblog [at] gmail [dot] com anytime!

  2. Pingback: Sixth Time’s a Charm « Musings on Life After College

  3. Pingback: Is It Time To Quit Your Job? « Musings on Life After College

  4. Pingback: The Time I Got Laid Off The Day After My Birthday | Musings on Life After College

Join the Convo

