Music Monday: The Bangles

Every Monday or so, I’ll share a music suggestion from a reader.  Send us the songs that inspire you, get you motivated, help you get through the day, or put a smile on your face.  You can leave it in the comments, tweet it, or email us at postcollegiateblog [at] gmail [dotcom]

We’re going classic this week, my dear friends.  As this is my first day of temping and my return to a more structured work life – so long, day drinking! – I wanted to celebrate with a song that I almost performed at my elementary school talent show when I was in 3rd grade.  [I chickened out but practiced for weeks.]

Manic Monday by The Bangles

Nothing makes me feel better about Mondays, being working class, or life than a tune from The Bangles and Manic Monday has always hit that spot just right for me.  I don’t know if I’ve ever dreamed of kissing Valentino by a crystal blue Italian stream but I’ve definitely missed the bus, had no idea what to wear to work, and let a boy talk me into staying up way to late on a work night – a salient detail of the song which I thankfully did not grasp when playing the cassette tape non-stop in 1992.

So, here’s to remembering the things you loved when you were young; breezy pop music that makes you want to dance; knowing that everyone else shares your aversion to a honest day’s work; and your own personal fun-day!

2 thoughts on “Music Monday: The Bangles

  1. Pingback: Music Monday – Rewind « Musings on Life After College

  2. Pingback: Music Monday: Sia « Musings on Life After College

Join the Convo

