Real Life Responses, Part Three

I polled a wide selection of post-graduates to get their feedback on what life after college is like.  Every few weeks, we’ll stop and take a look at what real people are saying about their post-collegiate experiences and what tips they have to share.

One of the best parts of having a chance to do the Profiles in Post-Collegiate Courage series is getting to hear how people have overcome challenges or setbacks in their lives, both professionally and personally.  In light of having a pretty great couple of weeks, especially in terms of the response to this blog, I thought it would be nice to look at how people have been able to turn life’s lemons into lemonade [or life’s limes into tequila shots, if that’s how you roll.]

An example of a “blessing in disguise” in my post-collegiate life is:

  • Having corrective surgery on my leg. I’ve been stuck in bed for three months, but I’ve been able to sit and think about what I want in life.  I have been able to work from my computer on my new business adventures, and see how the business world works behind the scenes.
  • Realizing how great life is by experiencing great losses
  • Being unhappy in my first two post-college jobs led me to drink (a lot) but it’s also how I met the people who are my best friends, at a time when I lived somewhere where I didn’t know a soul
  • I signed up for a playwriting and photography workshop in Prague and managed to gather together enough scholarships and grants to go, but I’ve had to hold off starting at my job to go and it’s proving so far to be a stressful endeavor.  However, what I really want to get into is some form of professional writing or photography, so I’m really hoping I’ll come back with some kind of invaluable connection or experience that’ll help make my goals more attainable.
  • Moving back home after getting fired.  I was dreading it but I bonded with my parents, saved money, and came back stronger and healthier
  • A troublesome student I had this past school year.  Having him in my classroom made me resourceful, creative, and required me to develop confidence that I never thought I could have
  • The first time I interviewed at the company where I currently work, I didn’t get the job. I didn’t think so at the time, but I wasn’t right for the job. Now I know I am the best person for the job I have now—even if they didn’t hire me two years ago.
  • A combination of leaving my job after three years and my grandmother passing away in March 2009.  Both gave me the freedom to explore what it is I really want to do and I think I’m on the right path so far.
  • Mail!  I know it sounds silly but I rarely got mail in college and the people who I became really close with have become pen-pals of a sort.  We all have been trying to write each other regularly and have been getting something other than bills in the mailboxes.  It gives all of us something to do and something to look forward to.

Finally, a great sentiment from my very wise friend Abernathy.  We all recently lost someone who was so special to us and I find Abernathy’s perspective one of the most perfect examples of taking the heart-wrenching challenges of life and challenging that energy into something positive:

This sounds weird, but the whole situation with Halley. Through the last year I’ve become so close to so many of my friends and reconnected with a few I had begun to take for granted and lost touch with.  Also, I stopped being petty and I have a healthier outlook on life, which I think is going to drive me to do more NOW instead of waiting for this or for that, you know?

 

2 thoughts on “Real Life Responses, Part Three

  1. Awww, I was reading through this post and I forgot what my answer was to this question. Seeing it again totally reaffirmed those feelings for me. Thanks for posting this Becca!

Join the Convo

