A Lack of Passion

I’m going to say the thing most people writing blogs would never say:

I don’t know what my passion is.

The entire concept of blogging is built upon the foundation of passion.  You love the music on the TV show Treme? There’s a blog for that.  You think lesbians who resemble teenage pop sensations are awesome?  There’s a blog for that.  From paying down personal debt to terrible cakes, fashion to fetishes, you can find a person blogging about it.

I would not describe myself as a passionate person.  I am energetic.  Animated.  Lively.  Outgoing.  A dear friend once said that what she liked about me most was the fact that I was interested in and fascinated by everything.  For her, my defining feature is that I have many interests and no singular passion.

Do other people feel that way?  How does one pursue their passion when they don’t know what it is?  I sometimes worry that I lost my passion – that I was perhaps born to love doing something but forgot along the way what that thing is.  Maybe I let teachers or parents or friends distract me with other pursuits or discourage me from certain decisions.  More troubling, maybe I subconsciously stopped myself from cultivating a passion as a means of self-preservation.

Do not cry for me, blog readers.  Do not develop a mental image of a distraught quarter-lifer, sobbing on her keyboard at her bleak existence.  I do have interests, hobbies, and pursuits that bring me happiness, fulfillment, and a means to filling the days.  I occasionally get a glimmer of passion, a feeling that perhaps this is it.

And for now, I think that might just be enough.

7 thoughts on “A Lack of Passion

  1. Two things:

    1. I LOVE LOVE LOVE that you referenced Lesbians Who Look Like Justin Bieber. I didn’t click on that link, but I’m willing to bet $50 that’s what it leads to.

    2. Someone told me once that half of us won’t find our passion until we’re 30. So I’m guessing that our responsibility for the next few years, enjoy ourselves and try not to freak out in the chaos.

    • I don’t know if I have $50 to give away but let’s just say I owe you a beer for being correct. It wouldn’t be much of a blog if I didn’t name drop LWLLJB at least once.

      I feel very reassured to know that I have a couple years left until I turn 30 to discover my passion. I also think as a generation we’re all very quick to define ourselves very narrowly by our passions and it’s nice to sort of be the kind of person who likes a lot of things. At least for now!

  2. I think people used to be passionate about one thing and one thing only… but then Al Gore invented the internet.

    I also think these days our passions are more general, like, “Doing good deeds,” or “Social justice.” For me it’s “I want to make a difference,” and that’s why I’m making this drastic career shift.

    So, I don’t know if that makes sense to anyone else but me, but it makes me feel better about not having a real job right now.

    • Oh, interwebs. Why must you give us so many options?

      I definitely think it’s challenging because people are age are supposed to be passionate about something AND everything because we have access to so much technology and information.

      Of all the people I know in this world, you are certainly one of them who I believe will make a difference. Although surely entire blog posts could be written about how you already change the lives of those around you 🙂

  3. Pingback: Join the Conversation! « Musings on Life After College

  4. Pingback: Anti-Schooling Valedictorian Speech « Musings on Life After College

  5. Pingback: Why I Am Not in Graduate School « Musings on Life After College

Join the Convo

